Tags

, , , , , , , ,

robin-1192321_640So, early this morning during my Bible time with the Lord, I read in two separate Devotionals to be at rest, take time to be quiet in His presence…not to let things hurry my day or make me anxious. God is not in a hurry. Awesome, I sighed. But, I looked at my clock and knew I had to get breakfast for myself and my husband. We were going to the town wide yard sale we always attended annually, and it was getting late. We needed to scoot to drive out to the town, do some shopping and get to the Farmer’s Market before it closed…Whew!

When we finally returned later in the afternoon, I saw my study table sitting there by the wide back sliding doors, looking so inviting. I had dashed out the doors early this morning – I sat down and opened my Bible again, and tried to settle down.

Since it had rained all morning, when the sun chose to start shining through my glass door, I looked up. There was a mother robin perched on the edge of the back porch railing! She was as still, and poised like a – well like a watching bird. I sat very still, too. I did not want her to sense me and fly off. So sweet to watch. She was not anxious. Just waiting for food to fly by.

I thought of a Matthew 6:26-27: “Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by worrying and being anxious can add one unit of measure (cubit) to his stature or to the span of his life?”

All about birds not ever being anxious or stirred up. Why was I? Imagine God sending a bird to teach me a lesson on being still. He reminded me of Who I belong to. Of Who is Peace. It took a robin to remind me.

