Tags

, , , , , ,

When someone near us dies, whether related to us, or a friend, it is difficult, of course, but it also serves another purpose – we end up measuring our own lives closer. This happened to me this very week, and even in the middle of normal tasks thoughts of their passing away, and of my own living would come into my mind suddenly.

Memories like newsreels interrupted daily activities, and I at the oddest times I would wonder if I should have done or said something more. Emotions would get stirred, and time would stall for a moment. Death of others reminds us of life, of our own age and of what we still want to do with our time left. And we certainly do not know how long that is. Death of people we know teaches us, reminds us of the beauty of living, and of our connection with eternity and God.
Learned

