Tags

, , , , ,

After the big snow in Vermont, on Sunday, I was up early on Monday morning, at my little writing table facing our big back glass door. I never tire of looking outside in our lightly forested yard. Out there it was very cold and still, as if in a photo. No breeze blowing, not a bird on a limb, not a breeze blowing, or even a small woodland animal.

The snow-quilted yard stretched out perfectly before me, and all seemed to be waiting, waiting, holding its gray, cloudy breath. I almost did not want to make a sign, or disturb the “painting.” What is coming? More snow…..more snow upon our snow, about to ever-so-silently invite itself in.

It did come down, slow and then faster and faster…but silently whispered, you slow down, no rushing today. Slow down and admire all that is right. Vermont has snow now, much awaited. See the silver skies, white-caped mountains, all softened, fresh and clean.

A winter gift before a someday spring.

I was thinking about this blog as I drove home the next day, and I knew the Lord was prompting me to look up snow in the Bible. So I did. I found Isaiah 55:10-11.

“For as the rain and snow came down from the heavens and return not there again, but water the earth make it bring forth and sprout, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall My word be that goes forth out of my mouth: it shall not return to Me void, {without producing any effect, useless}, but it shall accomplish that which I please and purpose, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I send it.”

