Tags

, , , , , ,

Cool word – bequeath, so elegant, so formal, yet so ancient. It resounds with authority and power.

“I give you, I bequeath to you….”

The word bequeath is wrapped in promise, in a sense of permanent, and
elegance. It makes one think of a legal and binding, intentional gift, all
wrapped in cords of inheritance and generations.

Jesus said, “My own Peace I now give and bequeath to you…” John 14:27

It is not a world peace given by the world, or a peace I can manufacture myself, but rather a genuine place in Jesus where the blaring world news cannot change me, or bad news from my own space poison me. His Peace is an eternal atmosphere, very real and available.

So much to do, so many questions circling around wherever I go. A lot of unknowns at my heart’s door and at my country’s door…changes to navigate and blessings to be thankful for.

In my quiet time with God today, I was reminded of His matchless Peace, the perfect Gift born at Christmas, spoken to us in His Bible, and given to all who call Him Lord.
“Peace to you.” (John 20:19) We can choose to stay in His atmosphere of peace, because Peace is a Person…The Prince of Peace.

“Peace I leave with you; My (own) peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. D0 not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed: and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.” John 14:27

I know I need to read and reread this admonition from Jesus to not get all troubled and disturbed by the world around me, but to remain in His atmosphere of eternal bequeathed peace…to stay in a submitted place to pray according to His will.

