Tags

, , , , ,

Cool Word – bequeath. Quite elegant and formal in an ancient sort of way. It resounds with authority and power when one says it out loud. Words with “Q”s can do that. I give unto you, I bequeath to you…it wraps the gift in promise with a ribbon of authenticity. It is generational.

Jesus Christ said “My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” (John 14:27 Amplified Bible). He was not talking about world peace, or a step I can take to quiet my agitated self down temporarily. He was talking about a genuine place in Himself, the source of God’s peace, where we can turn when the world news blares out from the media, or our personal bad news closes in. It is real place in His presence where any believer in Jesus can access by faith; unseen, but as real as He is. Our clear spiritual “atmosphere” where Jesus bequeaths His protection of peace. I know this is available, and when I read about it again today, I knew that I was not always accessing it, but was often succumbing to the frets and frustrations of the events around me. I quickly need to call upon Jesus name when I am overwhelmed, and believe that He, my Savior, has it all under control. When I acknowledge that I trust Him, He imparts that peace that is not of this world to me. Whew. So good. I must remember to hide in Him more often. My desire is that you know Him as the Prince of Peace, too.

