Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love Psalm 91. It is all about the Lord protecting His children who dwell in Him, in the secret place. Over the years, I have learned to pray this amazing psalm like a prayer of true protection over myself and my family. Line by line I relish each promise and emphasize it and believe it. When I get to verse 4, “He will cover you with his feathers, and under His wings shall you trust and find refuge,” I try to picture the feathers covering me.

Then verse 11 reminds me of the time I know angels really did what that verse promised me, “They shall bear you up on their hands, lest you dash your foot against a stone…”I was checking on my apartment sump pump during a lot of rain. It was down in a fairly deep concrete hole, and when I peered over the edge down in that basement hole, I could see that it was turned wrong. Stepping out cautiously onto the thin wood plank over the hole, I thought I might reach over and adjust it. The board wobbled and I would have fallen into the hole, except I felt something steady me, and help me trip lightly over that thin board, and get me to safety. I knew it was a rescue.

I decided to commit the Psalm to memory. Every day, on the way to work, I would say the whole psalm aloud, like a bold prayer, enjoying it. One memorable morning, I was about two or three verses into my proclamation of 91, when I heard softly, but very clearly, “It’s a song, you know.” Whoa! I stopped mid verse. Of course it is a song!

We forget that all the Psalms are songs. Not poetry. So I started to make up my own tunes to sing Psalm 91 (since we do not have the original tunes). Singing engages our hearts and souls more than just saying the Bible. And singing won battles in the Bible. So with singing I “up” my faith by the Lord’s reminder. The Psalms are songs, you know. Sing them to the Lord.

And, of course, Have a healthy and prosperous new year. I appreciate you all.

