Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I did not realize that I was stirred up inside myself until I was driving home from an overnight trip with Kevin. The lush Vermont mountains and farms were so peaceful, and I was enjoying them so much, when I knew that even though the scenery was peaceful, I was not. I knew it was a divine set-up when I started to think about the devotional reading I had done this morning. It was about peace. Hmmmm.

What had taken my peace, anyway? All the news broadcasts from the past weeks, decisions I needed to make, answers I had prayed for that were delayed in coming. Since I was driving along with the Lord, while Kevin was resting, my “listener” was on.

The Bible says that I should be governed by peace, and I knew I was not peace-filled at the moment. Admitting that I needed to have the Help of the Lord, I began to talk to the Lord, and share the arrows of worry that were coming at me sometimes. He already knew these problems, but as I admitted the needs I had, I suddenly realized that Peace is not just a feeling, it is a Person. “For He is {Himself} our peace.” Ephesians 2:14a.

It was intensely calming just to think of this truth. Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace is Himself in me, with me, for me. Then I remembered the awesome verse about the gift Jesus left behind to all of us disciples, “Peace I leave with you; My own peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. {Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.} John 14:27 AMP.

Okay, I surrender to Your peace, Jesus. I want the “ peace that transcends all understanding” to guard my heart and my thinking.” Phil. 46:7 It was a good ride home, for certain.

