Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Date: Last week
Place: Historic Fredericksburg, VA
Purpose: A regional prayer conference — We had the day off before the evening meeting

Armed with a good camera, a fabulous parking place on historic Caroline Street, and curiosity, my husband and I headed for the Visitors Center. The day was sunnier and a bit warmer than we Vermonters are used to in February, so we strolled down the charming street, just looking in shops.

There was an ultimate destination before we left Fredericksburg, Mary’s Rock. The director at the Visitors Center gave us directions to the famous rock, so we headed out to find it. The Mary that the Rock was named for was Mary Washington, the mother of George Washington. Every day during the Revolutionary War, she sat on that large, flat rock and prayed for the safety of her son George, and for the victory of our forming nation. Since Kevin and I were part of a prayer gathering that was calling out to God to turn America around, we wanted to see this inspiring landmark.

We parked on the street where Mrs. Washington had lived so long ago. Out beyond the large monument built on Mary’s grave, was a very large, split flat rock, jutting out over a hill. I walked over onto the rock, stepped up and asked the Lord how to pray. I really felt like I should declare out loud that I was agreeing with Mary Washington’s prayers for America, and for a return to our national foundations established so long ago. Mary’s real Rock was her Lord Jesus, the One she had her faith in.

Praying at Mary Washington's Rock

Praying at Mary Washington’s Rock

“He only is my Rock and my Salvation. He is my Defense and my Fortress, I shall not be moved.” Psalm 62:7

“So everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts upon them [obeying them] will be like a sensible (prudent, practical, wise) man who built his house upon the rock. And the rain fell and the floods came and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock.” Matthew 7:24-25 AMP

Lord, keep America placed firmly upon that Rock. Amen.

