Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Time: Friday afternoon
Place: The Kindergarten class I was helping in
Event: Gingerbread house making

As a helper for the 16 children, my assignment was to dole out frosting in small portions for the ‘builders’ to use in sticking candy and pretzels on their little houses.

Toward the final touch-ups before the end if the school day, I was giving one smiling boy his last dollop of icing ‘glue’. Deep in satisfaction, fingers all dripping with icing, and candy streaks on his lips, this lad looked up at me and announced joyfully,” This is the best day of my life!”

Even as I drove home, that boys rapturous words stayed with me, and taught me as I drove home through the afternoon traffic. God was using the child’s words and heartfelt joy to give me some understanding. Surely that lad had many days in his life that were better than the gingerbread time, but he was living quite fully in today. I was beginning to see something differently as I considered him. Every day is a gift from God, and we can get the most out of it, not comparing it with yesterdays that are gone, or against possible tomorrows. Just living today for its own sake. Why can’t today be the best day of my life, and tomorrow, also? Jesus told us to become as little children. They are captured by each moment of life.

“Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” (Mark 10: 14-15 Msg)

The challenge, then, from a child and from Jesus Himself, is to wake up tomorrow, enjoy something you have, notice something new, and maybe even get your fingers in the frosting and taste the sweet. Have the best day of your life!

I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows). (John 10:10 Amp)

