Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, my friend and I found a parking space, finally, in the very full lot. We found a seat, kind of far back, but they were filling up. I got the paper program all crinkled up in my hand along with my coat and hat and water bottle and purse. We both sat down, turned off cell phones and waited eagerly.

I was ready to enjoy the annual production of Handel’s Messiah. My Husband was singing tenor and I watched the huge choir fill into their upper balcony and choir loft places. Their colorful choir robes helped to enhance the effect of the room’s vaulted ceiling, huge organ pipes, and the greenery on the doors.

It was time. The conductor raised her baton The music swelled and we began to be transported back into time, into the majestic promises of the coming of Jesus in the Bible;
“Prepare ye the way of the Lord”…..”A virgin shall conceive and bear a Son”….”He shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, the Everlasting Father, the Prince of peace.” So powerfully sung and still telling the truth to listeners all over the world. So beautiful, so familiar, written in 1794, but still beloved.

I could feel the moment we all were waiting for about to come. Feet all over the room were softly preparing, and hands were moving to hold onto the pew ahead of them. The Halleluia Chorus – it was time. In one wonderful, honoring wave, about 200 people stood and joined in.

“Hallelujah! For the Lord God Omnipotent reigneth. The kingdom of this world is become the kingdom of our Lord, and of His Christ, and He shall reign for ever and ever. King of Kings, and Lord of Lords. Hallelujah.”

Wow. We walked out of the building, into the cold evening darkness full of sound and truth. When I got home, and my husband returned as well, he told me that at the end of the original manuscript, G.F. Handel had put S.D.G. – Soli Deo Gloria. Translation: “To God alone the Glory”. Indeed.

I can’t wait till next years performance.

