Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Father God, I need help from You, to offer a richer level of thanks and praise. To reach into a deeper place in my heart to give to You a feast of thanksgiving from my soul.

I can’t offer You the weeping, ground-kissing gratitude that the first pilgrims gave when they survived the ravages of the sea to fall upon the shores of Cape Cod.

I can only imagine the hope-filled hearts of the waves of hungry and homeless refugees waiting freedom at Ellis Island, and a new life in a young America.

I am a part of my history, a part of the thanksgiving that George Washington recommended to Americans after the Revolutionary War in 1789, to give thanks to God, and of Abraham Lincoln’s recommendation to Civil War sufferers in 1863 for war-torn folks to gratefully remember God. My praises, inspired by the Psalms and my own experiences in God’s blessings, are joined with all this rich history.

I very much want to “lift up my eyes unto the hills’ and be very thankful from my very roots to my eternal”wings”. I want to sing richer praises to God, Who gave me the breath in my lungs, my life on this planet. He gave me a life with heritage, with relatives and friends and with blessings more abundant than any I could have imagined! I can’t stop my expressions of thanks, every day, because my gratitude feels like so little compared to His much for me.

Bless affectionately, praise) the Lord, O my soul; and all that is [deepest] within me, bless His holy name! Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul, and forget not [one of] all His benefits…. Psalm 103:1–2

