Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My flight from Albany Airport, to Midway in Chicago was on time. 175 passengers, several crew members, altitude 38,000 ft. Nice! Buckled up in my front middle seat, I obediently turned off my cell phone, and got ready to fly.

Studying a book in flight about the complete sufficiency we have in God, our Creator, I felt my plane soar up in the sky like teenager on a city bike path. And outside the window was a mountain range of perfect voluminous clouds. Suddenly, I realized in a very heightened way, the very smallness of my own self in a giant heaven – the Hand of God beneath my plane, and the absurdity of packing two hundred people in a metal tube high above the earth!

Back to really thinking about the ability of God to keep me mercifully safe, and to looking at that book again. Take a deep breath. Like Psalm 23, “The Lord is my shepherd …. He leads me beside still waters …. Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life….” On the ground and up in the sky, this ‘sheep’ needs her Shepherd. I loved the smoothness of the first flight and it made me think about the verse in Psalm 23 that promised, “He leads me beside still waters.” Smooth flight. Thank You.

Flight # 2, the one that was several hours long, was “fasten your seatbelts” time for practically the whole flight. Mild turbulence, a lot of it, and suddenly my tube in the clouds gave me a whole new appreciation of the keeping power of the Lord, my Shepherd. Whew. This flying sheep made it, and landed with total gratitude.

Yea, though I fly over the quivering desert skies,
I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me….

I have learned freshly again, that no matter how modern we are, and how far away I am from living in green sheep pastures, that God is still my ‘shepherd’ Who watches over me and lands me safe in my ‘pastures’ of destination.

