Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Unaware
I was out on an errand, about three or four miles from home when it hit. In a local store, I was browsing when everyone in the store heard and felt a building reverberating BOOM!
What? One look outside the store window showed me a day that had suddenly become night. Black clouds were rolling through and rain was sheeting in the streets. I never knew it was going to rain! Whoa.

Unprepared
All I could do was stand outside in front of the small mall overhang with a lot of stunned people – all looking at their deluged cars….looking so far away, and in the danger zone, with the flashes of lightning like fireworks and the water pouring down ….we were all counting the cost. Not the run out and laugh at the wetness kind of storm at all. The display of raw power from the nearby heavens was a theater of very dangerous beauty.
Billowing black clouds, huge sound woofers at maximum velocity, ….and …and…the lightning – oh the brilliant, unpredictable, and dangerous lightning show like I have never seen before. It crackled the immediate skies above us, as fire engines began to screech in the streets nearby.

Oh, how I wanted to dash to my little car over there ….ZAP FLASH BOOM!

What should I do, Lord? I took out my cell phone and called my husband at home asking him to check the storm above me. He was watching the same raw power from home and said in a few minutes it would let up for a few moments. That would be the moment to make a dash. Because after that a bigger storm was barreling after it.

Braced
As I put my cell phone away, a lady came to stand right beside me, not knowing when to make a break for her car, either. I shared my husband’s information, and suddenly the biggest and closest bolt of white-blue lightning I have ever seen revealed its electric danger right over the nearby grocery store. It literally filled the length of the sky. Whew. More fire engines raced by. There was a brief pause of the thunder as a few short white clouds tailed the black ones above. I nodded to the lady beside me…”one, two, three!’
We nodded and burst across the lot to our cars. I made it to my car just in time.

Driving home slowly in the streets running with water, I prayed out loud, as I traveled in the fresh new storm that dove down upon me. It felt like it was late in the evening, even though it was not even five o’clock. Traffic lights were out all over, there was no power on in any of the stores or places I splashed past. Fire engines were parked in the middle of the main street, and traffic funneled into one lane at points. Flooded places in the road dips, hydroplaning here and there. I was really alert, and very careful, but I was not frightened, I just stayed near my God in my heart and in my proclamation of who He Is…and I drew close in my car to the ONE who could get me home safely. My Protector. Only my Heavenly Father could make a show like this. His Raw Power was totally evident. Truly the Heavens declare the glory of God. I got home safely, and the storm ended soon after. Praise the Lord! I am remembering how Jesus taught that our lives need to be built upon the rock – He is the Rock- so when the storms come we will remain firm and steadfast.

Stop in your tracks! Take in God’s miracle-wonders! Do you have any idea how God does it all, how he makes bright lightning from dark storms, How he piles up the cumulus clouds— all these miracle-wonders of a perfect Mind? Why, you don’t even know how to keep cool on a sweltering hot day … (Job 37:14-17 The Message)

He is like a man building a house, who dug and went down deep and laid a foundation upon the rock; and when a flood arose, the torrent broke against that house and could not shake or move it, because it had been securely built or founded on a rock. (Luke 6:48 AMP)

