Tags

, , , , , , ,

Do you remember the Raiders of the Lost Ark movie scene where Indiana Jones had to make an escape, over a chasm, but the only bridge was invisible – he had to step out on it before it would show up. I watched that movie when I was younger, and I strongly remember that crisis of decision – what if he stepped out, and – there was no bridge after all. I could hardly bear to watch, much less take that step. Then my turn came.

It seemed to be time to take a very big step in my life, and as much as I wanted to do it, the only real “bridge” from God was His brief word to me, “it is a new time.” But God, what if…?” I stared at the possible chasms, and hesitated. My opportune time was closing in and the only bridge across would have to be taken by faith. Whew. I looked over the edge of the precipice many times in my mind, until I realized that I only had peace when I thought of myself on the other side. So I stepped over the bridge.

A few days after I had made the decision, I suddenly remembered my morning Bible verse. “Sing praises to God, sing praises to Him. Cast up a highway for Him who goes before you.” (Psalm 68:4)

Wait! My praising God in faith is building an Invisible Highway, for Him to help me?”
Amazing. How awesome to come upon the verse to confirm my step of faith. God is good.

