Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A usual day at work, surrounded by a room full of various noises, and children’s needs.
Preschoolers hammering, Legos clattering off tables, little boys with cars zooming around my feet, and a few squabbles to moderate, and, of course, hugs to impart or return … and a little four year old girl suddenly standing in front of me, interrupting. I bend my head to listen to her problem and to re-tie her shoes, and to help her find another toy to play with. Again. And then, a very clear, softly strong, eternal inner voice spoke to me unexpectedly!

“You are standing in the presence of greatness.”
Wow. I was a bit stunned. In a cocoon of thought for an unforgettable moment. In the presence of greatness? Wow. This little girl- what was she going to be? I softly patted her rumpled head, and prayed for her under my breath. Off she skipped to play and I went about my job, but I really wanted more wisdom about this from the Lord.

And He called a little child to Himself and put him in the midst of them, And said, Truly I say to you, unless you repent (change, turn about) and become like little children [trusting, lowly, loving, forgiving], you can never enter the kingdom of heaven [at all]. Whoever will humble himself therefore and become like this little child [trusting, lowly, loving, forgiving] is greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever receives and accepts and welcomes one little child like this for My sake and in My name receives and accepts and welcomes Me. (Matthew 18:2-5 AMP)

Greatness. That little girl in the class, and all little children, are all to be received with delicate wonder and responsibility. Of such is the Kingdom of Heaven.

