Tags

, , , , , , ,

Wait, wait … my long awaited February school break was rushing past way too fast! It is Thursday already and I wasn’t getting all I had planned to do, done. My errands were thwarted by snow and incredibly bitter outdoor temps and, then I got sick for a day and I had to postpone my friend visit and lay around on the sofa. What about getting the closets all organized and my book typed up? The week was almost done, and the weather channel people were talking about another storm for this weekend … whoa.

As I lay on the sofa yesterday, not feeling good at all, I was talking to God about my disappointments regarding this vacation of mine, and how time was rushing by.

“Is it your break, or My time?” The question was very quiet in me, and very real.
It had the effect of totally changing my perspective on the whole week. Mine or His? Oh. “This is the day that the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24) That verse came to mind right away. Familiar, but was I living it?

So I worked on putting down my “to do” list and being grateful for the things that had happened so far on this break; talking to faraway family on the phone, having a friend call and pray for me to feel better, and that the Maker of the Universe loves me enough to set me right, gently. Since I gave the Lord my life many years ago, He is the Lord of my time, and what He sets before me is His best plan. Including my more-rest-than-work plan.

When I felt stronger, I sat at my table with some coffee and thumbed through the new devotional I had, rather randomly landing on June 17th. I read where I landed, and saw how much God really can order things for us. In this devotional, Jesus Calling, written by Sarah Young, Jesus told her, (and me as I read it), “Don’t take yourself or your circumstances so seriously. Relax, and know that I am God with You, When you desire My will above all else, life becomes much less threatening. Stop trying to monitor My responsibilities – things that are beyond your control…” Then later in the page, “I rejoice when you trust Me enough to enjoy your life lightheartedly.”

God picked out that lesson for me, for certain. It felt very good.

