Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Way back in early December, getting some snow to decorate the landscape was foremost on the conversations of a lot of the Vermonters I knew, worked with or even overheard. “It won’t seem like Christmas without snow.”

A for me and my house, so to speak, we faced a very long car trip from Vermont to Virginia, and we did NOT want snow going over or coming back. While others fervently wanted snow, we fervently prayed it would hold off, for our sake and others in transit during the holidays. Praise the Lord, He gave us our request!

Then the snow dam burst, and we have had gobs and inches and feet and more! When the first named snow storm was pending, the teachers and kids at the school I work in started building in excitement. Oooh, oooh, we could have a snow day. Nothing more fun than the first snow day. Up early awaiting the hoped for phone call … yeah, school cancelled! As for me and my house, we both stayed home and safe from the blizzard, enjoying the day off.

After that, you all know the story line … storm after named storm and more snow days off and two cancelled rips to see family, and subzero temps, and salt, and shoveling a lot, and mostly what I heard at work and everywhere was “Oh we are tired of these storms and all this snow! Enough of this.” And it was just January, Well, as for me and my house, we were a bit tired of the intensity of the storms, but working on being thankful for the food we had, the electricity, cars starting, etc.

So now, it is another month of this, and we are sitting in our living room, expecting yet another intense storm. More of the superabundant white stuff, facing being snowbound again, and more plans cancelled … I have to fight the inner signs and winces … and as for me and my house, what will we do? We will remember we are Vermonters, that it is still winter, and that we are blessed to have heat, and each other and a cozy place, and we will praise the Lord, because that is the response He is after. And we will get our shovels ready.

Thank [God] in everything [no matter what the circumstances may be, be thankful and give thanks], for this is the will of God for you [who are] in Christ Jesus [the Revealer and Mediator of that will]. (1 Thessalonians 5:18 AMP)

