Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So I was up early as usual, to read the Bible, have some devotional time with God before my really busy work day. Bathrobe on, feet in warm socks, I quietly went to the kitchen to make a cup of hot coffee, and look outside the kitchen at the dark morning.

When the coffee was done, I jazzed it up with a bit of peppermint and chocolate flavoring. Um, yum. All warm and settled, I sat and sipped, and read. It was right at the beginning of jotting down a real good thought about a verse I enjoyed, when I noticed the verse on my mug. I had read this mug verse before, but it got my real attention like never before.

“The Lord your God is in the midst of you, a Mighty One, a Savior. He will rejoice over you with joy. He will rest (in silent satisfaction) and in His love He will be silent and make no mention (of past sins, or recall them). He will exult over you with singing.” (Zeph. 3:17)

It was for me. I was re-excited by the words. Somewhere in me I needed those words. I couldn’t contain the warm feeling of happiness in picturing God Himself singing happily over me. Resting in satisfaction over me? Even when I so often am not satisfied with myself? And God singing over me? What does His song do? And what does it sound like? Such a lot to think about: The God of the Universe happy over me?

The time with my mug and the verse and the Lord was over too fast, and I had to get ready to go to work, but even as I write this down I remember that time, and I delight in sharing this mug verse with you. The wondrous thing is that this verse is as true about Father God now, as it was when written long ago. And now it is yours, too.

