Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As the bright-eyed little second grade girl pumped higher and higher on her swing, she shouted conversation to me, standing nearby. Seems the higher she got the sillier she got. In one of her downward swoops she called out to me to “write a letter in the sky.”

Sounded like make believe fun, so I pointed my gloved finger at the fluffy sky above us, and I told her to dictate to me what I should write. I used exaggerated strokes and she giggled out nonsense.

Connect, connect…later on I could not help but make associations with our sky writing, and the devotional reading I had done earlier that morning. It was all about contemplating on the promises in the Bible that God has given us, and who we can be through Jesus. The writer suggested that we can paint a picture, so to speak, of what our lives can be as God sees us. As a writer and painter, that really captured my attention. The brushes for this painting are hope and faith. I remembered that it says in Proverbs 23:7 “As a man thinks in his heart, so he is.” Hummm. So many possibilities that God planned for every life, and do we even try to envision the potential we have? Consider from Psalm 139: 16, “ Your eyes saw my unformed substance, and in Your book all the days of my life were written before ever they took shape, when as yet there were none of them.”

I am going to really paint a better picture of my potential in my mind’s eye. It is a project that will take prayer and research, but the challenge is on. The words I “wrote” in the sky for that little girl faded with the clouds, so to speak, but my life is forever. What kind of picture will you paint of yourself in your future?

