Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

In my little city, a lot of our primary and secondary roads were mincemeat in some places after a long snowy winter. City snowplows are necessary, but hard on road surfaces. You’d drive most of the summer and suddenly hit a missing chunk and rattle a few teeth, indeed. We all grumbled inside and some verbally about how long it was taking to improve these roads.

It was not until summer that we began to see evidences of road repair crews. How exciting to see the set ups for a real repair and reconstruction on our main town artery, Route 7. It turned out to be a long process, with day and night crews subtracting traffic lines, putting down crusher run that was really hard to drive on, lots of large road crew machines and narrow single lanes that kept changing daily. Whew, it slowed people down. But it was progress.

Often a topic of conversation all about town, through the fall, most felt impatient and grumbly at the inconveniences … including myself sometimes. “So, when was it ever going to get done?”

November. We are almost done. Just need the lines painted and those little stickup things removed from the lanes. So nice and smooth a road. But why am I writing about a bunch of roads in my town? Because this morning the Lord gave me the road project as the visual example of my bumpy and uncomfortable personal life lately.

The added responsibilities and time constraints put on me lately at my school job made me feel like I was on the wrong road. I did not like the sudden bumps. It had been so much smoother just a few months ago. Ouch. God, am I doing something wrong? Do I belong here? Yes. I knew the answer. The more surprises and careful responses I was experiencing lately were designed to grow me, and to also make me more dependent on God’s help. Since every single day of my life has been already written in His book for me before I was born, I was traveling on a life path that was full of experiences for me.

Your eyes saw my unformed substance, and in Your book all the days [of my life] were written before ever they took shape, when as yet there was none of them. (Psalm 139:16 Amp)

While the first part of the Irish Blessing “may the road rise to meet you,” was my comic and wry thought, as literally it felt like the road was rising to meet me, I knew that the real thought I needed to remember was, ”The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord.”

The steps of a [good] man are directed and established by the Lord when He delights in his way [and He busies Himself with his every step]. (Psalm 37:23 AMP)

