Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

“Oh, I am lonely for the future,” I sighed in prayer, as I washed the dishes alone in the kitchen. That actually came out of my mouth and surprised me. What did I mean by that prayer of longing, anyway? I actually had to ask the Lord what was the longing of my heart in that prayer.

Was I longing for the promises God has given me to come to pass … Did I want to get out of the ordinary day to day life and fast forward? Maybe yes to those in some respect. I know I want to go from faith to faith and strength to strength, and from glory to glory, as the Bible says. Is that what I was praying for? To finally become steps closer to bearing more of the image of Jesus?

What I wanted was an to be able to reach out in my spirit for more of God. To hear Him more, to ultimately see Heaven … closeness I did not have yet. I almost began to chide myself, but then realized I had a comrade in this desire … David the Psalmist King … the more he experienced the Lord’s presence, the more he wanted … yes. I wasn’t longing for a holiday to arrive, or a specific goal … but rather a God-breathed desire for more of Him.

My soul longs, yes, even faints
For the courts of the LORD;
My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.
Even the sparrow has found a home,
And the swallow a nest for herself,
Where she may lay her young—
Even Your altars, O LORD of hosts,
My King and my God.
Blessed are those who dwell in Your house;
They will still be praising You.

It doesn’t get any better than that.

