Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So much rushing and extra stuff to think of at home and my workplace.
So much left to unpack after our recent move, and things to wrap up as this school years draws to a close.
So much news that is not pleasant to hear on the news channels
Rude drivers on the roads
Long lines in the stores…
Sigh. My soul seems to be stirred up and needs something. I sat at the table early in the morning and knew I was writing something. Then a still, small voice of the Lord gave me a gentle suggestion.

Magnify Me.

Of course. I knew it in an instant! My soul, my mind and will and emotions, needed to step away from my worrying and tired attitude, step away from the disappointments and unfulfilled expectations, and take a walk in my heart in the green pastures of my soul with my Shepherd, Jesus.

“My peace I give unto you,” Jesus told His followers. “Not as the world gives give I unto you.”

I know that I need to stay in peace. But here I was at breakfast, thinking of King David and all he had to deal with as a king in the Old Testament…like palace intrigue, betrayals, enemies to his country, and he was able to pull himself apart and rejoice in the Lord, call upon the help of the Lord, and be refreshed in the real Truth.

“My soul magnifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God, my Savior.” The lovely words of Mary, the mother of Jesus when she was expecting Jesus, as an unwed mother who depended on the Lord.

I look up from the table, sigh with relief and remember that I was never designed to bear stuff alone. His Mercies are new every morning and I needed to be thankful for that and Magnify Him and not my unfinished things that I was bogging down on.

This morning, and every morning, I could join the company of King David the Psalm writer and Mary, and Magnify God – not my problems.

