Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I feel like it has been forever since my last blog. So much sorting, planning and packing has happened in the last week, and then, the Big Move! Actually, we only relocated a few miles away, but it has been such a shift in so many ways, that my husband and I are in a “get it done” mode that is exhausting. We love it when we get to dump big bags full of papers and useless stuff, or box up good things and give them away.

So, long hours and sore muscles aside, we are moved. We are in a lovely townhouse apartment with mountains of neatly packed boxes to unpack, and much to be thankful for. Great friends gave up a Saturday to load up and unload the moving van we rented, and God answered my prayer to stop the rain for the day, in spite of the forecasts of heavy storms.

So, the physical move has been filled with changes to explore and endure, but my own personal hard part has been coming, by necessity, to a new “soul place.” Do I like this new inner me? Not sure yet, but God has set my change in motion. You might be wondering what I am talking about. Parting with the familiar. Giving away things, for a smaller space, leaving the place we used to live, pressing through great physical exhaustion to get so much ready…All to embrace a new beginning together, that we know God has nudges us into. From a lot of experience, we both know that new seasons of life necessitate a new “us”, and a stepping into what He has, without the game plan made clear.

So, tired, vulnerable, and even a bit excited, we begin to embrace the season ahead, trusting God, Who is always with us. I also embrace the newly heightened meaning of the verse I love, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.” Luke 1:46

