Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Washing dishes – up to my rubber gloves in suds …I was getting tired and it was late in the evening. I was feeling weary and ordinary, and caught up in the necessity of the drudgery.

Then suddenly I was reminded, mid grumble, of the first line of an ancient saint, Brother Lawrence, that I had read as a teenager,” Lord of all pots and pans and things.”
That one line is all I could remember, but the Lord of pots and pans and things reminded me of it…the Lord of all my ways and life and every breath – the Lord of the Universe near me as I did this necessary task God with me in the really ordinary? The very same Jesus that stood beside Brother Lawrence, a monk long ago, was standing by me, heightening my awareness of the importance of doing all things as unto the Lord.

I was guilty, earlier today, of feeling bogged down, for a while, in the routine of keeping a lot of preschool children busy on a non recess day. And then I got the idea of making paper airplanes for the twelve of them. The first one was made of just a plain piece of light blue paper, then I discovered a pile of designer scrapbooking paper that had been donated. WOW. Talk about fancy airplanes: Maybe the world’s first designer paper airplanes were about to take flight down the school hallway! Remembering this earlier fun that I made out of an ordinary day connected me afresh to the lovely gratitude expressed in the prayer of the famous monk, included below.

Thank You God for being the God of my laundry folding
The God of my wait in long lines,
The God of my drive to work,
The God of all the minutes of my life…

Lord of All Pots and Pans
Brother Lawrence

Lord of all pots and pans and things,
since I’ve no time to be a great saint
by doing lovely things,
or watching late with Thee,
or dreaming in the dawnlight,
or storming heaven’s gates,
make me a saint by getting meals,
and washing up the plates.
Warm all the kitchen with Thy Love,
and light it with Thy peace;
forgive me all my worrying,
and make my grumbling cease.
Thou who didst love to give men food,
in room, or by the sea,
accept the service that I do,
I do it unto Thee.

