Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Amen. So Be it. Recently, I found myself very interested in the word, amen, and its’ amazing story. In contemplating it, I remembered the time, a few years ago, when I had an ‘amen’ experience.

It was quite early on a weekend morning, and I had gotten up to have a quiet breakfast and study the Bible. It was lovely watching the sunrise from the kitchen table. While reading, I ran into, a familiar verse that made me consider it more closely, “For as many as are the promises of God, they all find their Yes (answer) in Him [Christ]. For this reason we also utter the Amen (so be it) to God through Him [in His Person and by His agency] to the glory of God.” 2 Corinthians 1:20 Amplified

It was the yes… the Divine yes in Jesus that astonished me again, and this time I so reveled in the promise that the promises are a “so be it” in Jesus, that I got caught up in the sheer brightness of that and found myself doing a spin on the carpet like an excited child.

Amen is a Hebrew word that holds the meanings of verity, certainty, firm, true, and, of course, so be it. When I got into where Amen shows up in the Bible, I realized that Jesus Christ doesn’t just say amen, we do in agreement with Him, and Jesus actually is the Amen.

Amen is a Person! It is one of His names.
Deut. 7:9 “Know, recognize, and understand therefore that the Lord your God, He is the Amen (faithful) God.”

Consider Revelation 3:14 “These are the words of the Amen, the trusty and faithful and true Witness, the Origin and Beginning and Author of God’s creation.”

I was prompted to revisit the Amen and what and Who it means because a visiting minister to our church group was asking me in a conversation if I knew of anyone who had painted a picture depicting the four seasons. I suddenly remembered the Amen picture I had drawn after my amen experience. I had drawn wide empty letters AMEN on watercolor paper, then could not come up with anything to fill them. How could I illustrate that concept? After much wondering, to no avail, I suddenly knew. Genesis 8:22 came to mind. Since my memory of that verse was sketchy, I looked it up. It was a promise God made after the Great Flood with Noah. “While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.”

I got it. It was an amen promise to the earth and the people. SO I drew the four seasons in the middle of the letters. I was pleased with the results. And had put it away and forgotten it until my friend reminded me. She was pleased and wants to buy it.

So, it is almost Christmas, and the next time you think of Jesus, remember that He is the great Amen of the universe and His promises are Yes and Amen. Wow.

Amen

