Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“…the weary world rejoices.”

When I was doing errands, I heard the strains of “O Holy Night” on someone’s music, and one line jumped out so singularly, that it stopped me; “The thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices…” The weary world! Indeed, it made me give an inner sigh of recognition. The whole world does seem to be weary with problems and stuff. So many people I know feel buffeted and worried with trying to earn a living, and comprehend the news on the television.

I was finding myself feeling some of this weariness myself. But what to do to get above it? I went to the Lord in prayer and frustration, not even conscious of the frustration part, and Behold! Shazam! Wow! Hallelujah! The remedy hit me early one morning during my Bible time.

“At all times and for everything giving thanks in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father.” Ephesians 5: 20 (Amplified).

The remedy is thanksgiving, and praise to God. But where is the hope part of that song…you know, the “thrill of hope”? I know from experience and was glad to be reminded again, that when I give up my gift of thanks to God through Jesus, I am telling Him I trust that He is always the answer, and the One I can count on to overcome my problems. I turned in my Bible this morning and stopped, by surprise, on this marvelous verse that made me want to give God thanks and praise,

“I will not in any degree leave you helpless, nor forsake nor let you down, (relax My hold on you). Assuredly not! Behold, I am with you always, even until the end of the world.” (Habakkuk 1:35)

Giving thanks to God shoots arrows of light up past the brown clouds of the weary stuff. The thanks goes directly to presence of the Maker of the Universe, to the Lover of our souls, and returns from Him as light for your soul.

Hallelujah, thank You God! You understand how hard it is sometimes. You sent Jesus to love Your world back to wholeness and joy and peace!

The world has always been weary. In Bethlehem, the people were under oppression from Roman occupation, and then Jesus was born, and a shaft of heavenly light came down to land on that tiny newborn Savior. The angels were singing because Hope and the Light of the world was here.

The world was weary when Jesus died and things went back to hardness again. Then, suddenly, a shaft of light beamed from an empty tomb and Jesus was alive!

I have been considering Thanksgiving this year, and how I want to do more than a quick prayer and then get stuffed with food. I want to practice giving thanks more and more, especially when it is hard. I don’t just want to be momentarily grateful for the good things in my life, but I want to celebrate the God Who is always giving.

“Through Him (Jesus), therefore, let us constantly and at all times offer to God a sacrifice pf praise, which is the fruit of lips that thankfully acknowledge and confess and glorify His name.” (Hebrews 13:15).

Have a truly blessed time of Thanksgiving.

