Tags

, , , , , , ,

I struggled to face today when I awoke. Here was a brand new day, fresh from the womb of the morning – newborn – untested – quivering in its predawn mystery, and I needed to call it something in my heart and expectation. I needed to fight the urge to call it “oh no – Monday already!”

Snatches of my weekend behind me, with its struggles, unexpected furnace problems, delays, and surprises crowded to overload me before I could even remember the highlights of the good things that had happened as well. I needed to quench my desire to hide beneath my quilt. To chose to trust the Author of this day, and greet it with a better attitude. “This is the day that the Lord has made, and I will rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24) Okay. I could say it, but I needed to mean it. I sat my the kitchen table and read my Bible, as usual, and drank some coffee, The clear light of new dawn drifted across my table softly, and I decided to paint the day with good possibilities. I was not a turtle, but rather a triumphant warrior, and the more I read, the more I felt I could let the Lord heal the hard stuff of my the days before, and help me glean from the good instead.

Quickly I turned to check the time on the digital clock behind me, and it said 555. Wow. One five means grace. Three times was a lovely message to me. Grace upon grace upon grace. It was like a beckoning promise to trust.

P.M. Field Report:

A great day was had! None of the things that could have been a struggle for me appeared. In fact, I ended the work day with a second grade class digging into pumpkins and counting the slippery seeds, with a lot of fun. Truly it was a grace painting on God’s palette. Halleluiah!

