Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

They woke me up this morning with their crazy, excited bird Broadway show. I saw them right outside my windows, so full of joy…but for what? What makes them so abandoned to exuberant joy at such an early hour?

They were doing their God-appointed task. As far as we know, little birds have no dreams for tomorrow, no portfolio, debts to pay, or retirement account. Just the sun coming up and a new day to herald, like they were created to do.

“This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

I began to think that the birds could stand to be always joyful because God provided for their every need…then I was caught short in the midst of my thought, and I remembered! Jesus said that even though the Lord feeds the ravens and clothes the lilies, “how much more will He clothe you, O you [people] of little faith?” Luke 12:28.

In times when finances have been less than plentiful, I have gone in and out of anxious thinking. In the story Jesus was telling His people in Luke, He reminds me that the pagan (unbelieving) world is greedily seeking what they need, but that my Father in heaven knows what I need. “Only aim at and strive for and seek His kingdom, and all these shall be supplied to you also.” (Luke 12:31).

Rejoice, rejoice, those birds reminded me. Rejoice right now, even if the money does not come with this dawn. Or with any dawn. Draw a breath and praise the God of heaven, that I share with even the birds. I am in a new day, that is unique, and worth being lived fully. Birds are not worried, and God is not worried. I choose not to be worried, either.

