Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow … the evening news – mostly hard stuff, world problems and government controversies, and murder trials, and fires and floods, intrigues and so forth. So much to think and worry about. Is the world going out of control?

“In this world you will have trouble. But Take heart! I have overcome the world’’
(Words of Jesus, John 16:33)

I do not understand all that is happening around the world, or even all the problems I encounter in my own life sometimes, but Jesus said, Take Heart.” It means be of good cheer, be undaunted, and be confident and certain in Him. Do not let it get to you. Watch that heart of yours, He is telling me, because “out of it flows the issues of life.” (Prov. 4:23).

In the Bible Jesus told us not to be afraid, troubled, agitated, fearful, anxious, disturbed, or intimidated. I was just watching the evening news. Again. But, when I was honest about it, I did get worried and worked up about all the stuff that was being reported, and the chaos they showed in so many places.

So, I knew I was going to write about not letting yourself get all disturbed in your heart, but just trying to write it made me struggle, for some reason. Then it came to me to write about my own heart, and my reactions. I had heard a great sermon about guarding our hearts, this Sunday, and it came back around with its wisdom that evening. So I began to back up and take a look at my knowledge that “a calm and undisturbed heart is the life and health of the body.”(Pr. 14:30. Knowing and applying are two different things. Stay in peace in the everyday things of life…I wanted to do that.

Then I got a phone call from a good friend, as I struggled to write this blog on paper, and she was anxious about a certain hard issue in her life, and I realized I could share with her about what I was working on myself. We could pray for peace for her emotions right then. We talked together about how we cannot change our circumstances by being anxious and worried. We would get our bodies all worked up, and still not solve anything.

When my friend hung up, I felt that I gained another step in my desire to stay at rest in the Lord, and pray about things instead of getting upset and fearful about future. This is a process in me, and it is getting much improved.

Be at peace. Nothing that is on the news or going on anywhere has God surprised. He has overcome the world!

